Sunday, October 5, 2008

Not that I don't wash my hair....

I have weird hair. Sometimes I think that it looks dry at the ends and in desperate need of sheen spray. The hair advice gurus say that if your hair is dry, you should wash little and rarely. (I even read on one famous curly hair stylist's website that curly dry hair shouldn't be washed at all, just the roots, but not often!)

But, my hair gets seriously oily at the roots in a couple of days, and my hair is actually fine (I just have alot of fine hairs). So hair moisturizer is my enemy. I use it only at the ends, and only when absolutely necessary. (This is why I'm taking those vitamins - I'm convinced that my diet makes my hair dull).

But, I do get dry right around my hairline. I dunno why, but I find myself smearing hair oil on my hairline and mopping it up everywhere else. Maybe it's my facewash.

Now scalp condition and hair type are two different things. You want a combination product that helps both. But products are made for either scalp or hair (they are soooo lying if they say it's for both). What really gets me is that the products that are good for my scalp are bad for my hair. And vice versa. Especially since I have "Combination Hair". lol.

People look at me in horror when I tell them how often I wash my hair (shampoo every other day in the summer, condition every day).

"Your hair is going to drop!"

"That will dry out your hair and make it brittle!"

"You're not supposed to do that!"

There must be some ancient law that relaxed hair can't be washed more than once a week. And that's what the hair gurus tell you. I even read in a magazine that you shouldn't wash your hair for 2 WEEKS before and 2 WEEKS after a relaxer!!!!! (So thaaaats why so many people smell funny!) I think that was a joke, not advice.

Like Friday. After doing my 30-second hair job (part, brush left, right, back - done) I looked in the mirror and saw that the crown of my head was a big oily mess plastered to my head. Sigh.

During the week I don't have the time or patience to wash, dry and flat-iron my hair. Especially since I prefer to air dry. I don't even own a blowdryer. I'm so bad at blowing out my own hair. My hands get tired. But, after a few days, my hair is Greasy at the roots. What's a girl to do?

Enter dry shampoo.

I've used earlier versions... like that white stuff in a can that was supposedly sea algae that I could never get off my hair. Brush all you want. Either go with white patches in your hair or wash it and call in late to work.

And the overpriced hair (baby)powder. It came in black, brown, white. It sopped up the oil, alright. And any residue was the same color as my hair. But it left my hair so dull I wanted to spray some of that nasty olive oil sheen on it.... which so defies the point of all that effort.

And these things had the nerve to be expensive!

But, like a true beauty addict, ever-optimistic that this product will work, even if the last ten didn't, I got the Oscar Blandi Pronto! dry shampoo spray. It sat on my dresser all summer long till I finally needed it.

And thank goodness it worked. Not only did it work - it worked just enough - leaving enough of my natural hair oils to keep it soft. Seriously. My hair wasn't gunky with product or sticky, and was NOT dry. But I brushed anyway to be sure. I worked in sections, lifting a piece and sprayin lightly at the roots. Then flipped my down and rustled my hair at the roots, finishing with a good brushing (upside down still).

And here's the best part ----- no odor. No powdery cover-up perfume that just makes you smell funky. I know they call it "fragrance" but I call it "odor" when it stinks. And I don't.

Or, someone really needs to tell me....

No comments: